Reading Time: 2 minutes

These days we hear many people are going gluten free and avoiding it at all costs. However not everyone knows what does gluten mean and what it means to go gluten free. Before making any dietary changes one must understand what is gluten and why is it harmful to us.

What is Gluten

Gluten is a general term for protein found in wheat, barley, rye and oats. It is a component which gives foods the structure and binds them together.

Who needs to avoid it?

People who generally suffer from celiac disease or have gluten sensitivity or gluten intolerance need to avoid it.

Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is when gluten causes chronic inflammation of the villi in our body and damages the small intestine. People suffering from celiac disease need to avoid gluten at all costs.

Gluten Sensitivity or Intolerance

People who suffer from gluten sensitivity experience headaches, bloating, nausea, diarrhea, fatigue, etc when they consume foods containing gluten. Some people even develop lactose intolerance.

What foods contain gluten?

Foods containing wheat (roti, bread, flour, pasta, etc), rye (breads, cereals, etc), barley (flour, beer, etc) and oats contain gluten. People suffering from celiac disease must avoid it on all costs and always read labels for “gluten free” before purchasing a product.

Our Products

OZiva Nutritious Meal Replacement Shakes and Protein & Herbs Shakes are free from gluten and can be consumed by people who have gluten intolerance.

Add OZIVA Protein & Herbs Shake to Your Diet if your diet is lacking in proteins.

Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window